HPHS Headquarters
Award Recipients

 Marian & Leon Despres
Preservation Award

Chicago Neighborhood initiatives
David Doig President
for the restoration of 24 historic row houses in the North Pullman neighborhood

University of Chicago, Alicia Muraski, Executive Director
for Planning and Design

Woodlawn Homeowners Association
Linda Thisted and Sidney Hans, Residents
For the creation of planned development 43
Sub Area O on the 57oo Block of South Woodlawn Avenue

Paul Cornell Awards
Stephen A Trefffman
for iminaginative and infirmative documentation and preservation of Hyde Park's unique history.

Jackson Park Advisory Council, Louise McCurry President
For restoring Jackson Park's tradition of leadership in natural history, recreation and historic preservation

Washington Park Conservancy, Madiem Kawa, President
for honoring Frederick Law Olmsted's vision of nature and the democratic spirit in a great city park.

   Jean Block Award
Richard A Courage
For his book, The Muse in Bronzeville
African American Creative Expression in Chicago 1932 - 1950

Paul Cornell Award
Hyde Park Herald Archive

Alex Sagan
Paul Sagan
Bruce Sagan, PUBLISHER
For placing the Hyde Park Herald digital archive online

Special Collections Research Center
of the Joseph Regenstein Library of the University of Chicago
Eileen Ielmini
Head Processing Archivist
Maija Anderson
Former Processing Archivist, now with the Oregon Health and
Sciences University Historical Collections & Archives,
Portland Oregon
Daniel Meyer
Associate Director and University Archivist
For preserving the Hyde Park Historical Society Archives

Jean Block Award
Rebecca Janowitz
For her book, Culture of Opportunity: Obama’s Chicago:
The People, Politics and the Ideas of Hyde Park

Past Marian & Leon Despres Preservation Awards

The Willard Gidwitz House
designed by architect Ralph Rapson in 1947
Leon and Rian Walker, owners
For their historic rehabilitation project

Chicago Public Library
PARMA Conservation
--for the conservation and restoration of the historic murals at the Chicago Public Library Blackstone Branch

Stacy Stewart
Ishmael Smith
Bryanna Stalling
--for advocacy of the Carl Hansberry House as a Chicago Landmark

University of Chicago Law School
-- for the rehabilitation of the Laird Bell Law School Quadrangle

Lisa and Nate Eimer
-- for the restoration of the Frankenthal House, 4825 S. Woodlawn

The Medical Center of the University of Chicago
-- for the preservation of the American School of Correspondence building and for the restoration of its lobby and front elevation

Danny Aucunas
            -- for the restoration of the Vierling House, 4914 S. Greenwood

The Kenwood Open House Committee
The South East Chicago Commission
The Commission on Chicago Landmarks
            -- for establishing the Kenwood Landmark District in 1979

The Metropolitan Apostolic Community Church
The Coalition to Save the Met
      for saving the historic Metropolitan Community Church building
 The University of Chicago
The Save I-House Committee
           -- for saving and rehabilitating the historic International House building
            -- for rehabilitating the historic South Side Savings and Loan building

Marian & Leon Despres
-- for their leadership in establishing the Chicago architectural   
preservation movement

Link to Information about previous awards granted by the Historical Society           

 ©2013 HPHS all rights reserved
Warning: Reproduction, distribution
or exhibition of these images without permission is
a copyright infringement.

This site maintained by Julie Richman
Last updated 04/16/13